Friday Five: Back to School

Deb, at Rev Gal Blog Pals, offers this Friday challenge:

It’s Back-to-School time! Are you that A+ Student for life” or the King/Queen of Detention? RevGals want to know! We are all still learning (or re-learning) some kind of lessons!

Tell us about your learning edges in:

1. Reading: what’s in your “to-be-read” stack? Fiction? Church leadership? Commentaries?  I am just a few pages from finishing “The Gathering” by Anne Enright.  On my bedside table are two books I’m getting ready to pick up:  “The Truth-Teller’s Lie” by Sophie Hannah and Amy-Jill Levine’s “Short Stories by Jesus”.  A little book I dive into every now and again is “Wabi Sabi:  The Art of Everyday Life” by Diane Durston.  Here’s what I found this morning:  “The best things in life are nearest:  Breath in your nostrils, light in your eyes, flowers at your feet, duties at your hand, the path of right just before you.  Then do not grasp at the stars, but do life’s plain, common work as it comes, certain that daily duties and daily bread are the sweetest things in life.”  Robert Louis Stevenson

2. Writing: are you blogging? Journaling? Developing a new book proposal? Or just crafting sermons? Any excerpt you’d care to share? (We won’t grade your penmanship!)  I’m not doing any writing at the moment, but I am creating.  I have two quilts under construction,2015-08-28 10.20.02 one piece of fiber art in the design stage2015-08-28 10.19.52 and one piece in the “simmering on the back burner of my brain” stage,2015-08-28 10.19.23 and three stacks of fabric in the “get to it next” pile by my sewing machine.2015-08-28 10.20.19

3. ‘Rithmetic: Family budget? Church budget? National debt? What are you discovering about yourself and your church/family when it comes to handling money? Boy do I hate record keeping.  I do enter checks and withdrawals (and deposits too) in both my personal and Mission to the Homeless checkbooks, but I don’t track receipts and expenditures in an timely or efficient pattern.

4. Music: favorite new hymn or worship band?  I’m playing Bobby McFerrin’s 23rd Psalm over and over and over again as I sit with, pray about and struggle with how I am going to respond to a mentally ill Vietnam Vet at the day shelter where I serve and lead worship who has a really spooky delusion about me and a history of violence.  Don’t know what I am going to do but do know that that version of the 23rd psalm will help carry me to a way forward.

5. Detention: uh huh… If you were supposed to report for detention today, what would be the note on the slip? Smart mouth”  Need I say more?

BONUS: Recess!  I’m about to head out to recess now.  Here’s my destination.images-1

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Friday Five: Back to School

  1. Elaine says:

    Wabi Sabi…off to see about putting on a wish list!

    I have much respect and admiration for the work you do…some of it in potential dangerous situations.

  2. revalli says:

    Thanks. I love the work I do and the people I serve. A song that has been running through my head today is “I have loved you with an everlasting love.”

  3. Deb says:

    I LOOOOOVE McFerrin’s 23rd Psalm! I hope to sing it in a women’s group some day. The quilts/creative work looks lovely. I have yet to finish a sewing project in a while (hemming curtains doesn’t count!!

    Thanks for playing!!

Leave a Reply

