Friday Five: Hither and Yon

Threedogmom at Rev Gal Blog Pals writes,

After traveling through 13 states to arrive at 6 distinct destinations over the last five weeks, I am road-weary, and ready to be home for a good, long stretch. Weariness notwithstanding, they were all good trips that included wonderful scenery, with introductions and reconnections with people and places. Ahhh. The sojourning inspires today’s Friday Five.

Share with us:

1) a favorite city, and what makes it so.  UnknownSan Francisco is my favorite city.  The first time I visited it I was three years old.  I’ve been going back as often as I can ever since.  I love the pace, the light, the many exotic attractions–cable cars, Chinatown, City Lights Bookstore, Golden Gate Park, the Japanese Tea Garden–even the Cliff House perched over the Pacific.  I love the memories attached to so many parts of the city–when we lived in San Francisco, my parents would come for a month every summer.  They rented an apartment at the foot of Lombard Street.  I still look up when I drive by the corner of Taylor and Lombard; I still see them waiting for the bus on the corner of Van Ness and  Sutter; and when I walk down Maiden Lane, I remember the first time I walked down that street with my Mom.  I was three.  It was a different era.  She wore a dress, a hat and white gloves.  We purchased gardenias and felt as exotic as the city itself.  To this day, I still buy a gardenia whenever I’m in San Francisco.  The fragrance draws my mother close.

2) a favorite getaway spot, far from the maddening crowd (far being a relative term).  This P1010321spot–the rock in the lower right hand corner of the picture is my very favorite getaway place in the whole wide world.  When I was teaching, I would begin longing for this rock in late February.  I still long for time on this rock on the banks of the Poplar River on the North Shore of Lake Superior.  Time on my rock to listen to the sound of the water falling over other rocks and to feel the spray of the rapids on my face.  

3) a great local eatery that you stumbled upon while passing through from one place to another. Without a doubt, no contest, the best local eatery we’ve ever found is Old Siam Cafe in Newcastle on Tyne.  Check it out the next time you are in Newcastle.  You won’t be disappointed.

4) a landscape that inspires or nourishes you.  The Pacific Coast and it’s boundless horizon.  I hope it’s a perspective I hold for all my life.IMG_0309

5) a place you long to visit.  I LONG TO BE ON THE ORIENT EXPRESS.  Just a short trip will do.  I saw it once in the station in Verona, Italy.  One quick glimpse was enough to stir a deep longing in my heart.  One day I’ll be on that train.  

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Friday Five: Hither and Yon

  1. 3dogmom says:

    I love your love for San Francisco, and the idea of the gardenia. Your rock also looks the perfect place to be away from everything. And the Orient Express? Maybe a future Big Event! Thanks so much for playing.

Leave a Reply

