Friday Five: Surprising Finds

Jan, at Rev Gal Blog Pals, writes about surprising finds, “Only afterwards, do we realize that we have “found” something that we like–like a new way to look at something; a new (to me) author; a new song or hymn; a new food. Today share with us something that you like that seemed surprisingly “new” to you sometime in the near past. ”  

Unknown-2It all started with a book– A book I received for Christmas.    I thought it was just another history book.  A good tale.  A day’s diversion.  Little did I know that THE BIG BURN would offer a window into my family’s past.  But that’s just what it did.  THE BIG BURN is the story of the founding of the Forest Service and the challenges it faced–both political and natural–in light of a major forest fire that swept across one forest service district.  But for me the book unlocked a different story–Photo 18-the story of my grandfather, J.H. Allison, who was in the first class of the Forest Service.  I had no idea about the groundbreaking work he did as a young graduate of Yale’s School of Forestry and a new recruit for the Forest Service in Arizona and New Mexico.

 

 

Yet another surprising find this year was a piece of fabricUnknown-1 I discovered at a Japanese antique store in Berkeley, CA.  A piece of Boro Cloth–the cloth made out of pieces of cotton sewed together.  Though this is not the piece I found (my piece is being worked into a quilt) this is what bork cloth looks like.  That one little piece of fabric has changed my whole approach to quilting and who knows what else.  In the last year, I’ve found myself going back to quilts I made long ago, taking them apart, tearing them up, fusing old with new and creating new quilts from the old.  And I’ve also ventured out into new ways of working with fiber as well as new fibers with which to work.  

The last stanzas of ALL CREATURES OF OUR GOD AND KING:

And all ye folk of tender heart,
forgiving others, take your part,
O sing ye Alleluia!
Ye who long pain and sorrow bear,
praise God and on him cast your care: (R)

And thou, most kind and gentle death,
waiting to hush our latest breath,
O praise him, Alleluia!
Thou leadest home the child of God,
and Christ our Lord the way hath trod: (R)

Strange how those two stanzas get lost in the focus on creation.  And yet both are part of the created order.

Lines from a short poem long ago memorized but often far from the center of my consciousness:

The world is so full of a number of things/I’m sure we should all be as happy as kings.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friday Five: Surprising Finds

  1. Elaine says:

    What a magnificent find in your family history.

    • revalli says:

      It was/is a treat. As are his journals and photo albums. Hoping all will become part of the Southwest History and Research collection at the University of New Mexico. By the way, the photo was taken in your new home state–Arizona.

Leave a Reply

