Friday Five: Trash, Treasure or Tea?

Deb at Rev Gal Blog Pals writes,

“This weekend, our church is have a “Rummage Sale and Tea” event. The “rummage” part of course is of donated furniture, clothing, books and toys, or as some call it “Trash or Treasure.” (I think some of you call it “a jumble sale.”) The “tea” is an opportunity for those who don’t want (or shouldn’t) buy anything to still drop in and visit. It’s going to be a fun community event.

To get ready for this, I’ve been doing some sorting of things I don’t/won’t/can’t use to pass along to someone else. I also made a batch of Tea Tassies as part of the tea refreshments. All of this preparation birthed this week’s Friday Five!”

1. TREASURE: What is the best thing you’ve ever found at a rummage sale? Was it a bargain or just something you’ve longed for but couldn’t afford?

photoThe best and the second best in one picture:  The best is the antique bench I found at an estate sale in St. Paul, Minnesota, not far from Luther Seminary.  The second best is the set of nesting tables I found across the river at an estate sale in Minneapolis.  All were quite affordable!

2. TRASH: What is an item you couldn’t WAIT to donate to a sale like this, and then were surprised that someone not only bought it, they were so excited to have?

It’s not really a piece of trash.  Actually, I liked it a lot.  But I couldn’t wait to put it in the church sale because I wanted to see if anyone would really buy one of my quilts.  Someone did.  She paid $100 for it.  I felt like I’d made it big time.

3. BUDGET: How disciplined are you at these kinds of events? Can you stick to a budget, or do you empty your wallet?

I’m really quite disciplined at such things.  If it’s not something I can’t live without, I won’t get it.  On the other hand, I will empty my wallet for something great that shouts out to me, “Bring me home, Susan.” 

4. TAKE IT AWAY: What’s something you’d gladly donate right this minute if I would just come pick it up?

I got this CD rack for my husband five years ago.  It seemed appropriate at the time.  Not now.  Not in this more formal house.  Would love it if you took it off my hands.  Have at it!

5. TEA: Do you have a favorite tea? Or a special teapot? Tell us more!

White Jasmine Pearls from The Imperial Tea Court in Berkeley, CA.  Yourimages-1 prompt, a sudden downpour, and the need to take a break from sermon prep and I’m making tea.  Here’s a picture from The Imperial Tea Court.  Sit down and savor a cup with me!

BONUS: Share a recipe that you think would be divine for a tea. Or, if you aren’t a baker, tell about something scrumptious that you have had recently in the baked good category. For those of you who are now gluten-free, we want your favorite GF recipe!

UnknownBest with Meyer Lemons!

EASIEST LEMON PIE

1 lemon – seeded, quartered, do not peel!

4 eggs

1 C sugar

6 T butter

Puree until well blended, pour into unbaked pastry shell 9″

Bake 30 min @ 350.

Meringue

2 whites, 1 T sugar, pinch cream of tartar Beat until stiff!

Spread on top of pie (carefully) Bake 4-5 min in 425 oven. Watch so it doesn’t burn!  or spread the meringue on unbaked pie and bake @ 350 for 30 min.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

