Friday Five: Where Were You

looking back

I’m fortunate to be on the emailing list of a friend and business coach. Her enthusiasm for helping people strive toward achieving dreams and living authentically inspires me regularly, and even if I don’t always take advantage of the opportunities she shares, the resources she tells us about are always close at hand.

This week she told us about an app called “timehop.” It looks back at where we’ve been as a touchstone to seeing where we are now. It’s also a helpful reminder of what other people were experiencing in their lives, and can serve to encourage us to reach out and touch.

For today’s Friday Five, share with us where you were and what you were up to 1, 3, 5, 10, and 20 years ago! What were your dreams—did you follow them? Who was journeying with you? Feel free to keep it light (I was on vacation at the beach with my bestie!) or reflect more deeply (a call was brewing…). Have any pictures from those moments to share? We’d love to see them!

 

2012   A year ago today, I was still mourning the loss of a woman who had been P1010644my friend for 39 years.  We were young together.  We helped one another through the bumps of life as one starts marriage, family, career.  In many ways, she was my plumb line.  Her North Dakota common sense carried me through the ups and downs of my long distance courtship.  When that man across the country and I got married, she was our matron of honor.  Had it not been for her, our marriage might never have happened.  A virulent cancer grabbed hold of her and killed her. My sadness then and now is that that common sense and long-term friendship won’t be there with me as I go through the next and last few stages of a life.  We would have kept one another honest as we aged.

2011    Just starting out.  Again.  The Congregation of St. Martin’s–theIMG_0749 congregation of housed and houseless, of homed and homeless, had just begun.  We were three months into our life as a community.  They were teaching me how to be their pastor.  How to walk with them down the Emmaus roads of their lives.

2009    Was one of the darkest years of my adult life.  In May, 2009, I was still scrambling to sort out the extent of the embezzlement that had bedeviled the parish I was serving while, at the same time, working to recover the financial loss through Church Insurance.  Though the embezzler had been hired on someone else’s watch, the embezzlement continued unabated until we caught the thief with her hand in the cash box.  The whole event added fuel to the fire of those who had worked to get me out of that parish from the day I had been called.  My husband was dispirited–nothing he could do; my friends were as supportive as they could P1010627be; some clergy colleagues were great; others not so much.  Yet it was in the darkness of those days that I learned to walk by faith and not by sight.  Much of that do to the gentle support of my friend and parishioner Felicia–a feisty old woman who had once been an Anglican nun.  Had she not seen priest and pastor in me, I might not have seen it in myself.

2004    I was ordained a priest at All Saints Episcopal Church in the Diocese of El Camino Real by The Right Rev. Richard Shimpfky under the guidance of the Rev. Margaret Irwin.  Five years before, a call that had been rumbling underneath the surface of my life erupted.  I couldn’t shake it off.  I couldn’t ignore it.  But I had no idea how to pursue it.  I was a woman.  From the most liberal church in a most 10dSAHordination.0142conservative diocese.  There was no way forward.  I became a refugee.  We moved from the home we loved and the land that sustained.  Richard Shimpfky took me in; Margaret Irwin nourished us and moved me forward.  On January 3, 2004, I was ordained a priest.  

1994    That’s the year of the dog–or should I say “dogs”?  Mr. X (a shrunken Airedale) and Sasha (a full-sized Airedale) and Chaco (the pregnant stray I brought home from school) and later–Chaco’s puppies (Mao, Whitridge, Blackie and the one we kept because no one else would take her–Marlene Dietrich).  My husband birthed those babies because he was up.  I stayed in bed.  No wonder there were days when I wondered if he would take us all to be euthanized!  Have I mentioned the saint I married?  Here he is:P1000359

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Friday Five: Where Were You

  1. 3dogmom says:

    I’m so sorry about the loss of your friend. The absence of such friends can be felt keenly for so many years. I’m glad for you that you carry her love within you. 2009 does sound like a refining fire, so painful. I’m glad you’re through that and living more deeply into the ministry to which you’ve been called. Thank you for sharing your story with us.

  2. Tara says:

    So sorry to hear about the loss of your friend. I love that you talk about her North Dakota common sense. I totally get that…since I am a North Dakota girl! Thanks for sharing your trip down memory lane!

  3. Pastor says:

    loosing such a dear friend is so tough. But thanks for allowing us to journey with you and hold you in prayer.

Leave a Reply

