AT RANDOM

On Fridays, the folks at Rev Gal Blog Pals post a Friday Five–five random questions blog pals are supposed to answer.  Sometimes I play along.  Sometimes I go off on a tangent.  Today I’m randomizing the random.  

IMG_0467Here’s the first question I’m tackling today:

4.  What piece of music, song, hymn, etc. are you diggin’ right now?

At this very moment, as I look out on the sun casting its morning light on the Austrian pine across the street and the honeysuckle not far from my window, I’m hearing and, truth be told, humming along to “When Morning Gilds the Skies.

Here’s another question that tickles my fancy:

2.  If you were a Panda Bear that could speak  O.k., even that is too random for me.  You are moving to a new office.  You can only take five books with you (pretend there is no thing such as kindle, nook, etc.).  What would they be BESIDES teh Bible, which is already written on your hearts?

Howard Thurman’s The Centering Moment is first in my stack of five books I wouldn’t be without.  I often begin my day with words from Thurman.  

“We are reminded in many ways of the quiet ministry of the spirit of the living God in our lives and in life that abounds around us.  The little healings of the silent breaches, the great redemptive acts when times are out of joint, the lifting of our horizons of hope when to have hope seems to be against all wisdom and against all judgment, the stirring of the will to forgive when for so long a time we have been buried under an avalanche of great hostilities–there are so many ways by which the ministry of the living God tutors the spirit, corrects the times, gives lift to the days. (55)

P1010163
I wouldn’t go far without my Norton Anthology of Modern Poetry.  I like to keep the words of Langston Hughes’ “Theme for English B” inscribed on my heart: 

The Instructor said,

Go home and write                                                                                                                          a page tonight.                                                                                                                                      and let that page come out of you–                                                                                             Then it will be true

…Being me, it will not be white.                                                                                                   But it will be                                                                                                                                     a part of you, instructor.                                                                                                               You are white–                                                                                                                               yet a part of me as I am a part of you….

I’d put in my little bag of essential books Ann Weems’ Psalms of Lament for she gives words to thoughts I hold but cannot voice or form into words. In “Lament Psalm Three” she asks,

How large a cup of tears must I drink, O God?                                                                         How much is enough?                                                                                                                        Must my cup grow and overflow                                                                                                      even as I drink from it                                                                                                                   until it becomes                                                                                                                                 as deep as a well                                                                                                                             and I can’t swallow any more?

I turn again and again to Walter Brueggemann when I’m at a loss for words.  In Lenten moments of my life, he’s my go-to man.  How comforting his “Marked by Ashes” is:

….On this Wednesday, we submit our ashen way to you—                                                     you Easter parade of newness.                                                                                                     Before the sun sets, take our Wednesday and Easter us,                                                         Easter us to joy and energy and courage and freedom;                                                           Easter us that we may be fearless for your truth.                                                                     Come here and Easter our Wednesday with                                                                                   mercy and justice and peace and generosity.

We pray as we wait for the Risen One who comes soon.

Lent bleak cross wrapped

I’ll end this Friday Five with a poem from Hafiz:

If It Is Not Too Dark

Go for a walk, if it is not too dark.                                                                                                  Get some fresh air, try to smile.                                                                                                        Say something kind                                                                                                                           To a safe-looking stranger, if one happens by.      

Always exercise your heart’s knowing….

There’s more to that poem, but I’m going for a walk with Faith and Tex.  Who know’s maybe a safe-looking stranger will happen by.

Tex and Faith0256                                                 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to AT RANDOM

  1. revkarla says:

    What a beautiful play. Thank you! Your doggies couldn’t be cuter…and I love that you shared exerpts from your books. That Howard Thurman quote grabbed at my heartbeat.

    • revalli says:

      Thanks, Karla. Just wish I could figure out how to do the poetry so the lines would look as they should. Glad Howard Thurman touched your heart. I never tire of him.

Leave a Reply

