Friday Five: If it ain’t broke…

Martha Spong at Rev Gal Blog Pals offers the Friday Five challenge today:

Notes app“It was a disappointing download. The new iOS 7 update took away the format I loved for the Notes app on my iPhone and iPad. I admit, these are tiny little First World problems. I will nevertheless miss the digital legal pad with the black brown font, in all its simplicity.

In honor of the dear departed, please name five things in your life that need no improvement. ”

#1.  My man Tim and our long-term marriage that keeps getting better and better.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA#2.  Tex who is the happiest (and most gregarious) dog I have ever had.  Recently he has taken up pulling towards the doors of people he knows and who he knows like him.P1000997#3.  The Golden in the Golden Gate Bridge.  (Can you imagine the uproar if they decided to change the color of the bridge?)Unknown#4.  Cuisinart food processors (add to that mixers on a stand, blenders, and those old-fashiones whisks).images-1 images-2

#4.  The Best of the Silver Palate Cookbook (My old one wore out.  Had to get a new one.  Nothing had changed.  (Unlike the Joy of Cooking which seems to change every time I cruise by the cookbook section in my local independent bookstore.)

OLD:  images-4

 NEW:images-3

#5.  The bread, the wine and the people gathered around the table.IMG_0527

And yet as I think about the things that haven’t changed, I realize that even the unchangeables seem to change.  Tim and I are not the same individuals or couple that we were even yesterday.  Tex’s essence remains but as he ages he mellows.  My replacement cuisinart is pretty much the same as was the whisk I bought for a friend, but even those had changed slightly.  As for the bread, the wine and the people gathered around the table–there’s a timelessness to it but it, too, changes all the time.  Heraclitus once wrote, “You cannot step into the river of thought twice in the same spot and come out the same.”  According to the doctrine of flux, things are changing in subtle ways all the time.  Yet I wonder if maybe the essence remains constant.  What are your thoughts about the nature of change?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Friday Five: If it ain’t broke…

  1. 3dogmom says:

    I love all your pictures, and the reminder that the constants in our lives–things like favorite recipes and appliances, stores where we can count on finding hard-to-find things–are sources of comfort. Things are always changing, yes, or perhaps our relationship to them changes as we get reshaped and transformed along the way. Nice reflection on all of that, and thanks for the invitation to reflect with you.

  2. bookgirl says:

    As I was thinking this, it was hard to come up with things that couldn’t possibly be improved. I like your take on “change” versus “improvement.” I am in love with my stand mixer (but it is different than my mother’s was). –Wendy

  3. Martha Spong says:

    That cookbook picture is such a tribute. And i love Tex!

Leave a Reply

