FRIDAY FIVE

1.  If you could hear what someone is thinking for a day, who would you choose, and why?

Without a doubt, I’d choose my dog Tex.  When we walk together, he’s always turning his head to take a second look at the people we encounter.  When he sees a pretty woman, he followers her with his eyes.  I wonder, “Is he singing Pretty Woman to himself?”  tex

2.  If you were trapped in a tv show for a month, which show would you choose, and why?  

That’s another easy one.  I’d love to be trapped in NCIS.  A month with Mark Harmon–what a treat.  When I’m taking a down day, I like to snuggle up on the couch with an endless cup of Jasmine Pearl tea, the remote control, and an NCIS marathon.  A great way to get away from it all.NCIS

3.  If you could do any job in the world for a day, what would it be?

I’ve had three great jobs each one well-suited for me

–waitress at the faculty club where I went to college (I loved the work and even more the fascinating people whom I served.  The best perk was a long-conversation with Hubert Humphrey as he waited for his class to begin!)                                                                                      –teaching history to fifteen-year-olds (My absolutely favorite activity was the first I did each year–asking the students what they saw as the formative people, ideas, events, technologies of their generation, their parents’ generation and their grandparents’ generation.  On Parents’ Night I did the same activity with their parents.  It was always fascinating to hear and then compare both sets of answers.)                                                                                                –priest to the homeless in the Diocese of the Rio Grande (I work with the most selfless group of colleagues–people who care deeply for those others overlook; the communion table at which I serve is in the back room of a homeless shelter and the community around the table consists of the rich and the poor, the housed and the homeless, people from many different cultures and yet, as we gather around the table we are one.

MY NEXT JOB:  images-1Driving a cab in San Francisco.  The thrill of it all.  Zipping up and down the many hills.  Always a new and startling view.  Customers from all over the world.  Folks appreciating it when I drive fast.  

4.  What are you loving right now?  Being alive.  Spending time with those I love–especially my Tim.  The Congregation of St. Martin’s and the Mission to the Homeless.  Long-time Friends.  Fabric.  Growing deeper into love with all of life.  

5.  Use these words in a sentence:    bless, cheeseburger, chihauha, skipping, Georgia.  Skipping over Georgia, cheeseburgers and chihuahas too, I send blessings to all of you–Rev Gal Blog Pals and good friends too.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to FRIDAY FIVE

  1. Karla Miller says:

    wow! a ryhyming sentence! I love what you love…and the taxi cab job sounds fabulous!

  2. Purple says:

    NCIS fan here as well…and Mark Harmon is pretty darn easy on the eyes. Love the blessing et.al.

Leave a Reply

