Good Things

A looming leap over the fiscal cliff, a drought of epic proportions in my back yard, politicians backing away from common-sense gun laws, the death of a good friend, another friend facing the loss of a lower leg, and, on a much lesser scale, two pairs of glasses lost (and replaced) in the last two weeks–it’s easy to get swamped by all the negativity.  But Deb at Rev Gal Blog Pals is asking about good things and that brings a smile to my face.  Five good things.  That’s all she asks.  Just five good things.

Tim0236

#1.  Tim.  He makes me laugh.  He steadies me.  He’s my T-Rock.

Tex and Faith0256

#2.  Tex and Faith.  They’re quiet at the moment, but not for long.  They don’t seem to tire of playing with one another and with us.

P1010241

#3.  The people I work with and the work I do.  I’m so grateful to have these doors opened to me.

maia and siena
#4.  The joy on a child’s face.

memories of childhood

#5.  Memories of Childhood.  Imagine what a farm with it’s own gas pump meant to a city kid.  A new world opening up!

IMG_0047

#6.  A leisurely start to the day–funny thing is that when you start counting the good things, they just keep piling up.

I have to write my sermon tomorrow.  That’s rushing things for me.  I need the week.  But a Saturday chock-full of obligations means I have to pony up on Friday.  As I was sitting with the texts today, I found myself coming back again and again to the words of the psalmist who talks about “…the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living.”  Seeing that goodness makes a difference.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Good Things

  1. definite health benefits of seeing and counting gratitudes!
    thanks for sharing yours – love photo posts 🙂 and that scripture from psalmist..

  2. yes, I love the image of the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living – everywhere! lovely photos, inspiring!

  3. Jan Hilton says:

    Wonderful pictures with succinct descriptions!

  4. Purple says:

    YAY for Tex and Faith…they certainly are attentive.

  5. Deb says:

    What wonderful goodness, indeed! Thanks for playing! 🙂

  6. Wayne Stratz says:

    Joy on a face. Yes indeed!

Leave a Reply

