Friday Five: Groundhog Day

The prompt today at Rev Gal Blog Pals is Groundhog Day.  I hadn’t planned to play.  But the questions are fun and, I learned just this week, Groundhog Day and Candlemas are really of one fabric if not one thread.
1. The Holiday:  On a scale of 1-5 (with 1 representing, “Hey! Stop hating on the most awesome season ever!” and 5 representing, “Green. NOW.”), how much are you hankering for spring? And what is, to you, a true sign that it is actually on its way?

I’m not hankering for spring because spring is already here in the high desert.  As I look out my window, I see shrubs beginning to bud.  The crocus and daffodil can’t be far behind.  

2. The Film: Seen it? If yes, Love it? Hate it? Meh?

I’ve never seen the film.  It wasn’t one to lure me into a theater and I don’t much like watching movies at home.

3. The Meaning: If you could relive one day of your life, what one would it be?

I don’t have a day I’d like to relive.  I have plenty of moments–skipping rocks on the shore of Lake Superior, a clear December night after the first deep snowfall, a class of juniors working on a simulation of the trial of John Brown (“What does God’s voice sound like?” the prosecutor asks John Brown), slow dancing with the man who became my husband….
4. The Meaning, Part 2: If you had to relive one day of your life over and over until you got something right (a la the Bill Murray character in the film), what day would that be?

Those times I’ve been drawn in by superficials like power or titles.  But I’m not sure I would ever get it right by reliving a bad moment.  Maybe the reliving should be the reliving of the aftermath.  Reflecting on the consequences of my bad decisions.

5. The Meaning, Part 3: If you had to design a life-changing experience for a fairly despicable human being (as is, for example, the Bill Murray character at the film’s start), what would it be? How, given all sorts of unlikely powers to bend time and take control of another person’s personal growth, would you do it?

I have a person in mind.  A small-minded, petty person who bullies others.  I suspect that the roots of the bullying lie deep in that person’s past.  I would love to see that person suffused in warmth and love and kindness–a moment so healing that the arc of that person’s life changes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Friday Five: Groundhog Day

  1. bookgirl says:

    I relive the aftermath of bad moments often. I think I’d rather be able to relive the moment itself. Also desert. Also could wait for spring. –Wendy

  2. Wayne Stratz says:

    May that warmth and loving heal us all

  3. Reliving a moment does seem not quite the way to fix things. Maybe forgiving myself might allow me to respond differently the next time.

Leave a Reply

