Friday Five: Help!!!

I’m a short people.  I need help all the time.  Most people prowl the aisles of the grocery story looking for food.  I’m on the prowl for tall people.  It’s the way I shop.  Find a tall person and then check out the shelves.  On planes, I find my seat and then scan the line behind me.  I’m looking for someone to help me load my roller bag into the bin above my seat.  Public places are great.  There’s always at least one tall person around to help.

I’m a short people.  I learned early on that I really can’t do it all myself.  That’s a good lesson to learn early in life.  And a generalizable one too.  I’m always asking for help.  That’s the way I work.  Sometimes friends will say to me, “Whose sermon is this, anyway?”  But I have to test my ideas on others and get their response.  That’s why I love Rev Gal Blog Pals Saturday Preacher Party.  There’s always someone at the table ready to help.

I’ve learned, however, that others can’t do it for me.  I have to filter help and advice through the lens of my own core values.  I’m the one who will live with the results.  It’s a balancing act.  One that gets easier over time.

A time when I’ve helped others?   I can’t answer that question.  I try.  Often.  But is it help?  That’s a question for others to answer.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friday Five: Help!!!

  1. Martha says:

    I have the same need in the grocery store. 🙂

  2. Tracy says:

    Me, too, Martha and Alli!

Leave a Reply

