Friday Five

What are 5 things you do or things you have bought that have made your life simpler/easier to manage?

1.  Rolling out of bed onto my bike and riding the bike path first thing in the morning.  I get my exercise before I even consume a single calorie.

2.  Trusting my husband’s judgment more often.  He’s usually right and he always speaks out of deep love.

3.  Our house in Albuquerque–it’s designed for one floor living, has a guest area and office separate from the main house, but best of all it has a drop-down ironing board right across from the washer/dryer!

4.  Returning to Howard Thurman in the mornings.  Here’s what I read today from Meditations of the Heart:  “I will make of my remembering a High Priest of Truth.  I purpose in my heart that I shall not use my memory to store up those things which fester, poison and destroy my living, my life, or the living and the life of others.  I shall make it my study to preserve my soul in balance and liberty.  I will use my memory to store up the excellent things of my experience.  In this way I shall lay up treasures in heaven.”

5.  My Cuisinart.  Thirty-one years and still chopping.  Need I say more?

Bonus: What’s something you wish you could manage better.

SAYING NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Friday Five

  1. Purple says:

    What a great idea with the drop down ironing board. So many times I end up not wearing something because it needs ironed and the ironing board is in the closet and the iron in a different closet.

  2. kathrynzj says:

    Great reminder on the immediate exercise. This works best for me too and I have gotten out of the routine. THANKS!

  3. I totally need to exercise first thing in the morning…although I do have a cup of coffee first 🙂

  4. leah says:

    Oh, I totally heart Albuquerque–Howard Thurman remains such a treasure, too! thanks for playing.

  5. Beautiful, RevAlli! YES to Albuquerque and Cuisinart — in that order!

  6. Amy+ says:

    Jealous that you have wecks in Albuquerque – we used to have one here.
    great play!

  7. bookgirl says:

    I’ve been talking about a drop-down ironing board. Really want one. Have to see if we can make it work. –Wendy

  8. Wayne says:

    Last night I was weeding books to give away. Howard Thurman is staying. Today as I carry laundry from the second floor to the basement… I will try not to be too covetous of your one story. Have a marvelous Sunday

Leave a Reply

